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[  D A T E  ]  

  
   
[  ADDRESSEE ]      
  
       
      
To Whom It May Concern:  
  
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. Chapter 33-46 entitled "Certification of Private Review Agents", and 
Georgia Insurance Department Regulation 120-2-58 entitled "Certification of Private Review 
Agents," all organizations intending to conduct utilization review in the state of Georgia must be 
certified by this department.  Enclosed are copies of the corresponding Code and Regulation 
chapters, as well as all necessary forms required for certification in this state.  
  
All items on checklist form GID-72 must be included with your application.  This includes form 
GID-57 (the principal filing form) and all additional documentation required by it.  Biographical 
affidavit form GID-65(UR) must also be submitted for each officer or responsible individual.  GID-
73 is the annual report for certified private review agents; it is not required with your application if 
your company has not yet commenced operations.  Please review Rules 120-2-58-.03 and -.07 
for further details on application and reporting requirements.  
  
The new regulations became effective June 12, 1996, and all essential documentation required 
for certification must be received by this office prior to the commencement of utilization review 
activities in Georgia by your firm or client.  Operating as a Private Review Agent without proper 
certification by the State is a violation of O.C.G.A. Chapter 33-46.  Please specify in your cover 
letter the current operating status of your company, especially with regard to Georgia.  
  
Please enclose with the application a certificate fee of $1,000.00.  This fee will cover the initial 
two-year period of certification.  The renewal fee is $500.00 for each additional two-year period.  
These fees are statutorily determined by O.C.G.A. § 33-8-1(1)(S).  
  
Be advised that, according to Rule 120-2-58-.03(6)(b), private review agents should be fully 
accredited by the Utilization Review Accreditation Commission (URAC) or the National 
Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA).  Each agent or entity must submit evidence of full 
accreditation with the application for certification by the State, or provide reasons why full 
accreditation has not been obtained or maintained.  Failure to do so will result in refusal to issue 
certification in accordance with Rule 120-2-58-.04.   
 
 If you have any questions about the application process, please do not hesitate to contact me, at 
(404) 657-1705.  Please submit all application materials or inquiries to my attention.  
  
Thank you for your interest in becoming certified as a Private Review Agent in the state of 
Georgia.  
 
 


